This post is also available in: Français

"Essengo"

Ray Lema

“To pass on joy and respect for other people to our children, is giving a future to the Humanity “. Ray Lema

When the children mix their voices with Ray Lema, the result is of course beautiful ! Ray Lema composed, wrote and arranged 10 poetic and inspired songs, with a tribute to Nelson Mandela. The songs are in French, English, Portuguese or Lingala. They are a universal ode to harmony – and not only musical – to peace and life. “Essengo” means joy in Lingala!

The project was initiated by the the Festival “Temps Chauds de Bourg en Bresse” in France. Every year the Festival invites an artist to creae a project with the children of the region. Ray Lema was the guest of the 2014 edition. The project was built throughout the year with music teachers from primary schools and 350 children. The result gave birth to the recording of an album and a concert during the Festival.

“I didn’t want to compose children’s songs. I wanted to give the children the opportunity to participate a real concert, get them on stage with the musicians of my band and myself, like backing vocals . The experience was fantastic, for them as for me.”(Ray Lema)

In 2017, the project was prepared and played again with the children of Vesoul in France.

In 2020, Ray Lema will go to Kinshasa in the Democratic Republic of Congo to present “Essengo” with the children of the National Institute of Arts in Kinshasa.

Close Menu

"Essengo"

Ray Lema

« Transmettre la joie et le respect de l’autre à nos enfants, c’est donner un avenir à l’Humanité ». Ray Lema

Quand les enfants mêlent leurs voix à celle de Ray Lema, la rencontre est forcément magnifique ! Ray Lema a composé, écrit et arrangé 10 titres bien balancés, poétiques et inspirés, dont l’un est un hommage à Nelson Mandela. Chantés en français, anglais, portugais ou en  lingala, ils sont une ode universelle à l’harmonie – et pas uniquement musicale – à la paix et à la vie, d’ailleurs « Essengo » veut dire la joie en lingala !

Le projet a été  initié par l’Association le Fil de l’Air, associé au Festival des Temps Chauds de Bourg en Bresse. Chaque année, l’association donne une carte blanche à un artiste. Ray Lema a été l’invité de l’édition 2014.  Avec 350 enfants du département de l’Ain, le projet s’est construit tout au long de l’année avec les professeurs de musique des écoles primaires du département. Le résulta a donné lieu à l’enregistrement d’un disque et un concert pendant le Festival.

« Je ne voulais pas faire des chansons d’enfants. je voulais donner la possibilité aux enfants de participer à un vrai concert en tant que chanteurs, mélangés avec les musiciens de mon groupe et moi-même, des choristes en somme. L’expérience a été fantastique, pour eux comme pour moi. » (Ray Lema)

En 2017, c’est avec le théâtre Edwige Feuillère et les enfants des écoles de Vesoul et de ses environs que le projet se répète et donne lieu à un concert.

En 2019, Ray Lema devra se rendre à Kinshasa en République Démocratique du Congo pour présenter « Essengo » avec les enfants de l’Institut National des Arts de Kinshasa.

Fermer le menu